Stuyvesant Town-Peter Cooper Village Tenants Association

Stuyvesant Town-Peter Cooper Village Tenants Association

About Your Tenants Association

The Tenants Association was founded in the fall of 1971 as the Stuyvesant Town Tenants Association for the purpose of “promoting the unity of the tenants….and to initiate the programs and collective action which will inure to the benefit of the tenants and their families.”

The forming of the Association was prompted when Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller pushed a package of bills through the New York State Legislature, commonly referred to as “Vacancy Decontrol”. The Legislation enacted full vacancy decontrol for all rent controlled and rent stabilized housing in the state, effective June 30, 1971.

Full vacancy decontrol was repealed in 1974 when the Legislature and Governor Malcolm Wilson enacted the Emergency Tenants Protection Act.

In 1993 the name was officially changed to the Stuyvesant Town-Peter Cooper Village Tenants Association.

Volunteer Officers

Susan Steinberg, Chair of the Board

John H. Marsh, III - President

Kevin J. Farrelly, Esq. - Vice President

Kirstin Aadahl - Secretary

Margaret Salacan - Treasurer

Board of Directors

Kirstin Aadahl

Dawn S. Davis

Alvin D. Doyle

Kevin J. Farrelly, Esq.

Soni Holman Fink

Anne Greenberg

Sherry Kirschenbaum

John H. Marsh, III

Judith Preble Miller

Steven R. Newmark, Esq

Thomas O’Connor

Margaret Salacan

John J. Sheehy, Esq

Susan Steinberg

Sandro Sherrod

A Single Person Can Make a Difference, Together They Make Change...